Author Message

<  Law & Order in Pulp City  ~  Chimp Chi - Legal Move?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:28 am
MortalPosts: 33Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:18 am
in any activation a Supreme may only use 2 actions, but the language of the card is a little confusing.

Could Chimp Chi Charge* then Ape-ki* with a Strike?

this is 3 actions, but ape-ki says it may be combine with a strike.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:24 am
User avatarHeraldPosts: 1461Location: Zen StudiosJoined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:43 pm
Supremes get more than two Actions - the restriction is on Movement Actions.

They can only make two Movement Actions (Page 28 of the Pulp City Guide) - the restriction only applies to Movement, not two Actions of any type.



_________________
I am Spartacus (apparently)

Never Bother Questioning Authority, They Don't Know Either . . .

"Damned if you Do, Damned if you don't"
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:40 am
MortalPosts: 33Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:18 am
From a previous thread (power question Perun) I understood it as each supreme can have 2 actions per activation, with a limit of 2 movement actions per round. A further restriction is placed that each exclusive power may only be used once per round.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:01 am
User avatarHeraldPosts: 1461Location: Zen StudiosJoined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:43 pm
On your other question, about Minions your example gives a Minion Moving twice and firing a gun - that would mean a Minion would be more effective than a Supreme.

Strike Actions are determined by the Supremes Level Under Universal Combat Actions -

Quote:
Supremes may perform Strike several times in
a Game Round. The maximum number is equal to their Level.


Other Actions are then restricted by the rule on page 24 -
Quote:
No Model may Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


I've just been through the rules cover to cover, and I can't find a reference to Supremes having two Actions period.

AS FAR AS I KNOW AND CAN TELL

Movement - 2 Actions

Strikes - 1 to 3 Actions depending on Level.

Other Actions - You cannot Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.



_________________
I am Spartacus (apparently)

Never Bother Questioning Authority, They Don't Know Either . . .

"Damned if you Do, Damned if you don't"
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:35 am
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 1536Location: SE KansasJoined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:14 am
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
AS FAR AS I KNOW AND CAN TELL

Movement - 2 Actions

Strikes - 1 to 3 Actions depending on Level.

Other Actions - You cannot Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


Exactly.



_________________
Bob Nolan

Now Accepting Commissions!

My Blog: Pen and Lead
Offline Profile WWW YIM
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:39 am
User avatarHeraldPosts: 1461Location: Zen StudiosJoined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:43 pm
varagon wrote:
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
AS FAR AS I KNOW AND CAN TELL

Movement - 2 Actions

Strikes - 1 to 3 Actions depending on Level.

Other Actions - You cannot Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


Exactly.


Thankies Chief!



_________________
I am Spartacus (apparently)

Never Bother Questioning Authority, They Don't Know Either . . .

"Damned if you Do, Damned if you don't"
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:44 am
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 4526Location: House of Jade LanternsJoined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:16 am
Mecha_Buddha wrote:
in any activation a Supreme may only use 2 actions, but the language of the card is a little confusing.

Could Chimp Chi Charge* then Ape-ki* with a Strike?

this is 3 actions, but ape-ki says it may be combine with a strike.


Note that Ape Ki* is not may Combine - you actually have no choice, if you use Ape Ki* it has to be with Strike; there is no caveat to add an extra Action in the same activation with Ape Ki* so you cannot Ape Ki* + Strike + Charge*.



_________________
Pulp Citizen (blog): link
Hairy sticking: TINY!; Red Bella; Slug Muldoon; Painted 154 Pulp City minis;
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:46 am
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 4526Location: House of Jade LanternsJoined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:16 am
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
Supremes get more than two Actions - the restriction is on Movement Actions.

They can only make two Movement Actions (Page 28 of the Pulp City Guide) - the restriction only applies to Movement, not two Actions of any type.


Just for clarity - models may still only Combine two Actions per activation (p.23), except where noted (e.g. Chronin; Triton's Strike for Tritonious).



_________________
Pulp Citizen (blog): link
Hairy sticking: TINY!; Red Bella; Slug Muldoon; Painted 154 Pulp City minis;
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:49 am
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 4526Location: House of Jade LanternsJoined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:16 am
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
On your other question, about Minions your example gives a Minion Moving twice and firing a gun - that would mean a Minion would be more effective than a Supreme.

Strike Actions are determined by the Supremes Level Under Universal Combat Actions -

Quote:
Supremes may perform Strike several times in
a Game Round. The maximum number is equal to their Level.


Other Actions are then restricted by the rule on page 24 -
Quote:
No Model may Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


I've just been through the rules cover to cover, and I can't find a reference to Supremes having two Actions period.

AS FAR AS I KNOW AND CAN TELL

Movement - 2 Actions

Strikes - 1 to 3 Actions depending on Level.

Other Actions - You cannot Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


Remember Activations differ from Rounds; I think Mecha_Buddha was referring to 2 actions per Actiivation which is true, with the caveat that at least one must have *.



_________________
Pulp Citizen (blog): link
Hairy sticking: TINY!; Red Bella; Slug Muldoon; Painted 154 Pulp City minis;
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:50 am
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 4526Location: House of Jade LanternsJoined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:16 am
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
varagon wrote:
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
AS FAR AS I KNOW AND CAN TELL

Movement - 2 Actions

Strikes - 1 to 3 Actions depending on Level.

Other Actions - You cannot Perform the Same Action
More than Once in a Game Round.


Exactly.


Thankies Chief!



And other buffs like Fury take that a tad further (adding extra available Strikes!). :)



_________________
Pulp Citizen (blog): link
Hairy sticking: TINY!; Red Bella; Slug Muldoon; Painted 154 Pulp City minis;
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:19 pm
User avatarMortalPosts: 6Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:16 pm
pulpcitizen wrote:
Remember Activations differ from Rounds; I think Mecha_Buddha was referring to 2 actions per Actiivation which is true, with the caveat that at least one must have *.


How many times can you activate any one Supreme per round?

How many Action Points can any one Supreme use in a Round?



_________________
"We might be the thirty-fifth Super Sentai, but we're still pirates!" - Captain Marvelous
Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:32 pm
User avatarGuardian of PulpPosts: 4526Location: House of Jade LanternsJoined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:16 am
Captain Marvelous wrote:
pulpcitizen wrote:
Remember Activations differ from Rounds; I think Mecha_Buddha was referring to 2 actions per Actiivation which is true, with the caveat that at least one must have *.


How many times can you activate any one Supreme per round?


There is no strict limit; for the most part Activations alternate between players (with a couple of occasional exceptions).

The limits then come in the form of how many AP (AP Pool) you have to Activate your models with, and their personal AP Allowance (the limit of what they can 'spend' from the Pool) for your Supremes.

Minions don't have an AP Allowance, and instead need to be Commanded.

Quote:
How many Action Points can any one Supreme use in a Round?


Up to its AP Allowance; that is the AP value written on the Supreme card.

Hope that helps. :)



_________________
Pulp Citizen (blog): link
Hairy sticking: TINY!; Red Bella; Slug Muldoon; Painted 154 Pulp City minis;
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:49 pm
User avatarMortalPosts: 6Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:16 pm
So, let me get this right in my head -

A Supreme may perform up to two Actions per Activation.

May be activated more than once.

May make a maximum of two Move Actions per round, 1-3 Strikes per round (depending on level), or use its powers/abilities (but not the same one twice).

Combine Actions count as one Action - but you have to pay the TOTAL AP for both Actions that are Combined.



_________________
"We might be the thirty-fifth Super Sentai, but we're still pirates!" - Captain Marvelous
Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:54 pm
User avatarHeraldPosts: 1461Location: Zen StudiosJoined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:43 pm
pulpcitizen wrote:
Remember Activations differ from Rounds; I think Mecha_Buddha was referring to 2 actions per Actiivation which is true, with the caveat that at least one must have *.


D'oh - my bad, I had got it in my head he was referring to Rounds LoL!

It's something that came up in the last game I played - my opponent seemed to be doing nothing, he had got it into his head he could only perform two Actions PER ROUND LoL!



_________________
I am Spartacus (apparently)

Never Bother Questioning Authority, They Don't Know Either . . .

"Damned if you Do, Damned if you don't"
Offline Profile WWW
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:55 pm
User avatarMortalPosts: 6Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:16 pm
Doctor-Warlock wrote:
It's something that came up in the last game I played - my opponent seemed to be doing nothing, he had got it into his head he could only perform two Actions PER ROUND LoL!


Yep - thats me :oops:



_________________
"We might be the thirty-fifth Super Sentai, but we're still pirates!" - Captain Marvelous
Offline Profile

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC [ DST ]
Page 1 of 2
16 posts
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
Search for:
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron